logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2014

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Denver, Colorado Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics
Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Riccardo Betti, Chair

University of Rochester

 

betti@me.rochester.edu

John Barnard

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

jjbarnard@llnl.gov

Donald Batchelor

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

 

batchelordb@ornl.gov

Farhat Beg

University of California, San Diego

 

fbeg@ucsd.edu

Amitava Bhattacharjee

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

amitava@pppl.gov

Eric Blackman

University of Rochester

 

blackman@pas.rochester.edu

Stanislav Boldyrev

University of Wisconsin

 

boldyrev@wisc.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

 

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Daniel Dubin

University of California, San Diego

 

ddubin@ucsd.edu

Richard Dendy

University of Warwick, United Kingdom (EPS)

 

r.dendy@warwick.ac.uk

John Edwards

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

edwards39@llnl.gov

Reuben Epstein

University of Rochester

 

reps@lle.rochester.edu

Joel Fajans

University of California, Berkeley

 

joel@physics.berkeley.edu

Richard Fitzpatrick

University of Texas

 

rfitzp@farside.ph.utexas.edu

Atsushi Fukuyama (JSPF)

Kyoto University, Japan

 

fukuyama@nucleng.kyoto-u.ac.jp

John Giuliani

Naval Research Laboratory

 

john.giuliani@nrl.navy.mil

James Hanson

Auburn University

 

jdhanson@auburn.edu

Patrick Hartigan

Rice University

 

hartigan@sparky.rice.edu

Mark Herrmann

Sandia National Laboratories

 

mherrma@sandia.gov

Thomas Jarboe

University of Washington

 

jarboe@aa.washington.edu

Stephen Jardin

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

jardin@pppl.gov

Hantao Ji

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

hji@pppl.gov

Igor Kaganovich

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ikaganov@pppl.gov

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

 

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

Carolyn Kuranz

University of Michigan

 

ckuranz@umich.edu

Patrick McKenty

University of Rochester

 

pmck@lle.rochester.edu

Zhihong Lin

University of California, Irvine

 

zhihongl@uci.edu

David Meyerhofer

University of Rochester

 

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Howard Milchberg

University of Maryland

 

milch@umd.edu

Paul Miller

West Virginia University

 

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

David S. Montgomery

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

montgomery@lanl.gov

Gerald Navratil

Columbia University

 

navratil@columbia.edu

Bruce Remington

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

remington2@llnl.gov

Chuang Ren

University of Rochester

 

chuang.ren@rochester.edu

Andrew Schmitt

Naval Research Laboratory

 

andrew.schmitt@nrl.navy.mil

Masaharu Shiratani (JSPF) Kyushu University, Japan (JSPF)   siratani@ed.kyushu-u.ac.jp

Charles Skinner

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

cskinner@pppl.gov

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

 

etjr@physics.auburn.edu

George Tynan

University of California, San Diego

 

gtynan@ucsd.edu

Mickey Wade

General Atomics

 

wade@fusion.gat.com

Scott Walton

Naval Research Laboratory

 

scott.walton@nrl.navy.mil

Ronald Waltz General Atomics   waltz@fusion.gat.com

Anne White

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

whitea@mit.edu

Glen Wurden Los Alamos National Laboratory   wurden@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Denver, Colorado Annual Meeting

James Hanson

Auburn University

jdhanson@auburn.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

 

512-694-2320

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Tim Tharp, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ttharp@pppl.gov

Richard Magee, Vice-Chair

West Virginia University

 

richard.magee@mail.wvu.edu

Dylan Brennan, Past Chair

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Arati Dasgupta, Chair

Naval Research Laboratory

 

arati.dasgupta@nrl.navy.mil

Halima Ali

Hampton University

halima.ali@hamptonu.edu

Farhat Beg

University of California, San Diego

fbeg@ucsd.edu

Angela Douglass

Ouochita Baptist University

douglassa@obu.edu

Stephanie Hansen

Sandia National Laboratories

sbhanse@sandia.gov

Paul Keiter

University of Michigan

pkeiter@umich.edu

Fred Levinton

Nova Photonics, Inc

flevinton@novaphotonics.com

Lorin Matthews

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Stephanie Sears

West Virginia University

 

ssears@mix.wvu.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

 

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

Anne White, Vice Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

whitea@mit.edu

Riccardo Betti, Exofficio

University of Rochester

 

betti@me.rochester.edu

Kitta MacPherson

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

kmacpher@pppl.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

 

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

 

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

 

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Simon Woodruff Woodruff Scientific, Inc   simon@woodruffscientific.com

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

David Meyerhofer, Chair

University of Rochester

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

John Booske

University of Wisconsin

booske@engr.wisc.edu

Alain Brizard

St. Mary’s College

abrizard@smcvt.edu

Charles Greenfield

General Atomics

greenfield@fusion.gat.com

Michael Keidar

George Washington University

keidar@gwu.edu

Peter Norreys

Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK

peter.norreys@physics.ox.ac.uk

Hye-Sook Park

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

park1@llnl.gov

Cynthia Phillips

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ckphillips@pppl.gov

Earl Scime

West Virginia University

escime@wvu.edu

Steven Spangler

University of Iowa

steven-spangler@uiowa.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

Peter Gary, Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Steven Sabbagh, Vice Chair

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Li-Jen Chen

University of New Hampshire

lijen@mailaps.org

Greg Hammett

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hammett@pppl.gov

John Mandrekas

U.S. Department of Energy

john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Julian Schulze

West Virginia University

fjschulze@mail.wvu.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Paul Miller, Chair

West Virginia University

858-455-3331

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Rick Lee, Past Chair

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

 

berryla@ornl.gov

Donald Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

correll@llnl.gov

George Hagstrom

New York University

hagstrom@cims.nyu.edu

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

Saskia Mordijck

William & Mary

mordijck@cs.um.edu

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Robert Kaita, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

kaita@pppl.gov

R. Paul Drake, Vice-Chair

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

etjr@physics.auburn.edu

Linda Vahala (appointed by APS)

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Robert Merlino, Representative

University of Iowa

                                

robert-merlino@uiowa.edu

Warren Mori, Associate Member

University of California, Los Angeles

 

mori@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Yu Lin, Chair

Auburn University

linyu01@auburn.edu

Carl Sovinec, Vice Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

Lorin Matthews

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Julie McEnery

NASA/GSFC

julie.e.mcenery@nasa.gov

Yuan Ping (2011 Recipient)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

yuanping@alumni.princeton.edu

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Ian Hutchinson, Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

hutch@psfc.mit.edu

Marty Goldman, Vice-Chair

University of Colorado

goldman@spot.colorado.edu

John Goree

University of Iowa

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Chris Keane

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

keane1@llnl.gov

Phillip Sprangle (2013 recipient)

Naval Research Laboratory

sprangle@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Paul Terry, Chair

University of Wisconsin

pwterry@facstaff.wisc.edu

Denise Hinkel, Vice-Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Adil Hassam

University of Maryland

hassam@umd.edu

Mark Herrmann

Sandia National Laboratories

mherrma@sandia.gov

Philip Snyder (2013 recipient)

General Atomics

snyder@fusion.gat.com

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Mike Mauel, Chair

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Truell Hyde, Vice-Chair

Baylor University

truell_hyde@baylor.edu

Farhat Beg

University of California, San Diego

fbeg@eng.ucsd.edu

Stefan Gerhardt

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sgerhard@pppl.gov

Bradley Shadwick

University of Nebraska

bshadwick2@unl.edu

Back to Top

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Cary Forest, Chair

University of Wisconsin

cbforest@wisc.edu

Greg Hammett, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hammett@pppl.gov

Bruce Cohen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

cohen1@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Laboratory

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Alkesh Punjabi

Hampton University

alkesh.punjabi@hamptonu.edu

Back to Top