logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Annual Meetings
Appointed Committee 2018

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Portland, Oregon Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
Nominating Committee
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics
Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Name Association Email

David E. Newman, Chair Elect

University of Alaska

denewman@alaska.edu

Uri Shumlak, Local Coordinator

University of Washington

shumlak@uw.edu

 

John Cary, Chair

University of Colorado

cary@colorado.edu

Ellen Zweibel, Vice Chair

University of Wisconsin

zweibel@astro.wisc.edu

Hui Chen, Secretary/Treasurer

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

chen33@llnl.gov

Richard Dendy (EPS)

University of Warwick, UK

r.dendy@warwick.ac.uk

Felicie Albert

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

albert6@llnl.gov

Scott Baalrud

University of Iowa

scott-baalrud@uiowa.edu

Radha Bahukutumbi

University of Rochester

rbah@lle.rochester.edu

Emily Belli

General Atomics

bellie@fusion.gat.com

Li-Jen Chen

University of Maryland

lijen@mailaps.org

Ben Cowan

Tech-X Corporation

benc@txcorp.com

Diane Demers

Xantho Technologies

drdemers@xanthotechnologies.com

Arturo Dominguez

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

arturod@pppl.gov

Maria Gatu-Johnson

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

gatu@psfc.mit.edu

Matthias Geissel

Sandia National Laboratories

mgeisse@sandia.gov

Mark Gillmore

University of New Mexico

gilmore@ece.unm.edu

YiMin Huang

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

yopology@yahoo.com

Truell Hyde

Baylor University

truell_hyde@baylor.edu

Heather Johns

Los Alamos National Laboratory

hjohns@lanl.gov

Mitsuru Kikuchi (AAPPS-DPP)

National Institute for Quantum & Radiological Science & Technology, Japan

kikuchi.mitsuru@gst.go.jp

Uwe Konopka

Auburn University

uzk0003@auburn.edu

Karl Krushelnick

University of Michigan

kmkr@umich.edu

Ben Liu

University of Iowa

bin-liu@uiowa.edu

Thomas Mattsson

Sandia National Laboratories

trmatts@sandia.gov

Nick Murphy

Harvard University

namurphy@cfa.harvard.edu

Mark Nornberg

University of Wisconsin

mdnornberg@wisc.edu

Kathy Opachich

National Security Technologies

opachiyp@nv.doe.gov

Art Pak

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

pak5@llnl.gov

Moritz J Pueschel

University of Texas

mj.p@utexas.edu

Yang Ren

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

yren@pppl.gov

Raul Sanchez

Charles III University of Madrid, Spain

rsanchez@fis.uc3m.es

Oliver Schmitz

University of Wisconsin

oschmitz@wisc.edu

Carlos Paz-Soldan

General Atomics

paz-soldan@fusin.gat.com

Jessica Shaw

University of Rochester

jshaw05@lle.rochester.edu

David Schaffner

Bryn Mawr College

dschaffner@brynmawr.edu

Marilyn Schneider

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Schneider5@llnl.gov

Douglass Schumacher

Ohio State University

dws@mps.ohio-state.edu

Gennady Shvets

Cornell University

gs656@cornell.edu

Daren Stotler

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

dstotler@pppl.gov

Jason TenBarge

Princeton University

jason.tenbarge@gmail.com

Erik Tejero

Naval Research Laboratory

erik.tejero@nrl.navy.mil

Steve Vincena

University of California, Los Angeles

vincena@physics.ucla.edu

Amy Wendt

University of Wisconsin

wendt@engr.wisc.edu

Anne White

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whitea@mit.edu

Austin Yi

Los Alamos National Laboratory

austinyi@lanl.gov

Yue Zhang

University of Washington

yzhang16@uw.edu

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for the Portland Annual Meeting

Uri Shumlak

University of Washington

shumlak@uw.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

DPP Administrator

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Eve Stenson, Chair

Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Germany

evs@ipp.mpg.de

Elizabeth Merritt, Vice Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

emerritt@lanl.gov

 

Richard Magee, Past Chair

Tri Alpha Energy Inc.

rmagee@trialphaenergy.com

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Stephanie Hansen, Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

sbhanse@sandia.gov

Saskia Mordijck, Vice Chair

College of William & Mary

saskia.mrdijck@gmail.com

Lorin Matthews, Past Chair

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Félicie Albert

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

albert6@llnl.gov

Nathaniel Ferraro

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

nferraro@pppl.gov

Shannon Greco

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sgreco@pppl.gov

Carolyn Kuranz

University of Michigan

ckuranz@umich.edu

Elizabeth Merritt

Los Alamos National Laboratory

emerritt@lanl.gov

Bhuvana Srinivasan

Virginia Tech

srinbhu@vt.edu

Mingsheng Wei

General Atomics

weims@fusion.gat.com

Jeremiah Williams

Wittenberg University

jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Paul Cassak, Chair

West Virginia University

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

Ami Dubois, Vice Chair

Tri-Alpha Energy

amidubois25@gmail.com

Carl Sovinec, Past Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

David Newman, Ex Officio

University of Alaska

denewman@alaska.edu

John Canik

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

David Schnaffner

AFFILIATION

EMAIL

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Ellen Zweibel, Chair

University of Wisconsin

zweibel@astro.wisc.edu

Radha Bahukutumbi

University of Rochester

rbah@lle.rochester.edu

Farhat Beg

University of California, San Diego

fbeg@eng.ucsd.edu

Debra Callahan

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

callahan1@llnl.gov

Arati Dasgupta

Naval Research Laboratory

arati.dasgupta@nrl.navy.mil

Juan Fernandez

Los Alamos National Laboratory

juanc@lanl.gov

John Goree

University of Iowa

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Hantao Ji

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hji@pppl.gov

James Myra

Lodestar Corporation

jrmyra@lodestar.com

Juergen Rapp

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

rappj@ornl.gov

Wojciech Rozmus

University of Alberta, Canada

wrozmus@ualberta.ca

Linda Sugiyama

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

sugiyama@mit.edu

John Wygant

University of Minnesota

Wygan001@umn.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

Steven Sabbagh, Chair

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Julian Schulze, Vice Chair

Ruhr University Bochum, Germany

schulze@aept.rub.de

Peter Gary, Past Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

pgary@lanl.gov

Li-Jen Chen

University of New Hampshire

lijen@mailaps.org

Greg Hammett

Princeton University

hammett@princeton.edu

John Mandrekas

U.S. Department of Energy

john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Arturo Dominguez, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

arturod@pppl.gov

 

Paul Miller, Past Chair

West Virginia University

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

leeaberry223@gmail.com

Cami Collins

University of California, Irvine

collinscs@fusion.gat.com

Donald Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dcorrell@llnl.gov

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

Rick Lee

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Rebecca Thompson

American Physical Society

sciencegirl01@gmail.com

Jeremiah Williams

Wittenberg University

jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Warren Mori, Representative

University of California, Los Angeles

mori@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Denise Hinkel, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Lab

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Tobin Munsat, Vice Chair

University of Colorado

tobin.munsat@colorado.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

Mitchell Walker (appointed by APS)

Georgia Tech

mitchell.walker@ae.gatech.edu

Back to Top

 

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Stewart Prager, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sprager@pppl.gov

James Drake, Vice Chair

University of Maryland

drake@umd.edu

David Hammer

Cornell University

dah5@cornell.edu

Yu Lin

Auburn University

ylin@physics.auburn.edu

Dmitri Ryutov (2017 recipient)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

ddryutov@gmail.com

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Walter Gekelman, Chair

University of California, Los Angeles

gekelman@physics.ucla.edu

Scott Parker, Vice Chair

University of Colorado

sparker@colorado.edu

Venkattraman Ayyaswamy

University of California, Merced

vayyaswamy@ucmerced.edu

Marco Borghesi

The Queen’s University of Belfast

m.borghesi@qub.ac.uk

Marilyn Schneider

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

schneider5@llnl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Hye-Sook Park, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

park1@llnl.gov

 

Alexey Arefiev, Vice Chair

University of California, San Diego

aarefiev@ucsd.edu

Daniel Den Hartog

University of Wisconsin

djdenhar@wisc.edu

Scott Kovaleski

University of Missouri

kovaleskis@missouri.edu

Ping Zhu

University of Science and Technology of China

pzhu@ustc.edu.cn

Back to Top

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Cameron Geddes, Chair

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

cgrgeddes@lbl.gov

Dustin Froula, Vice Chair

University of Rochester

dustin.froula@rochester.edu

Ian Chapman (2017 Recipient)

Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, United Kingdom

ian.chapman@ukaea.uk

Nuno Loureiro

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

nflour@mit.edu

Matthew Stoneking

Lawrence University

matthew.r.stoneking@lawrence.edu

Back to Top