logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2003

Program Committee for Invited and Contributed Papers
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Albuquerque Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Young Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominations Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for Invited and Contributed Papers

David Hammer, Chair

Cornell U.

607-255-3916

dah5@cornell.edu

Tom Antonsen

U. of Maryland

301-405-1635

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

Christina Back

LLNL

925-422-6322

back2@llnl.gov

Bob Bingham

Rutherford Lab, UK

011-44-1235-445582

r.bingham@rl.ac.uk

Monica Blank

Communications
& Power
Industries

650-846-3557

monica.blank@mpp.cpii.com

Paul Bonoli

MIT

617-253-0992

bonoli@psfc.mit.edu

Boris Breizman

U. of Texas

512-471-6123

breizman@mail.utexas.edu

Vincent Chan

General Atomics

858-455-4162

chanv@fusion.gat.com

Daniel Cohn

MIT

617-253-5524

cohn@psfc.mit.edu

Jill Dahlburg

Naval Research Lab

202-767-1312

dahlburg@utopia.nrl.navy.mil

Michael Desjarlais

Sandia Natl. Labs

505-845-7273

mpdesja@sandia.gov

Dan D'Ippolito

Lodestar
Research Corp.

303-449-9691

dasd@lodestar.com

Todd Ditmire

U. of Texas

512-471-3296

tditmire@physics.utexas.edu

Bill Dorland

U. of Maryland

301-405-1608

bdorland@umd.edu

Melissa Douglas

LANL

505-845-7472

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Adam Frank

U. of Rochester

585-275-1717

afrank@pas.rochester.edu

Tim Good

Gettysburg College

717-337-6024

goodt@gettysburg.edu

Houyang Guo

U. of Washington

425-881-7706

guo@rppl.aa.washington.edu

Mihaly Horanyi

U. of Colorado

303-492-6903

horanyi@colorado.edu

Richard Hubbard

Naval Research Lab

202-767-2927

hubb@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Max Karasik

Naval Research Lab

202-404-7848

karasik@this.nrl.navy.mil

Robert LaHaye

General Atomics

858-455-3134

lahaye@fusion.gat.com

Rick Lee

General Atomics

619-455-3331

rick.lee@gat.com

Michael Mauel

Columbia U.

212-854-4455

mauel@columbia.edu

Joelle Margot

U. of Montreal

514-343-6635

Joelle.margot@umontreal.ca

Roberto Mancini

U. of Nevada

775-784-6595

rcman@physics.nr.edu

Masayuki Nagami

JAERI, Japan

011-81-292-82-5111

nagami@naka.jaeri.go.jp

Meers Oppenheim

Boston U.

617-353-6139

meerso@bu.edu

Tony Peebles

UCLA

310-825-4065

peebles@ee.ucla.edu

T. Craig Sangster

U. of Rochester

585-273-2350

csan@lle.rochester.edu

John Sarff

U. of Wisconsin

608-262-7742

jssarff@facstaff.wisc.edu

Edl
Schamiloglu

U. of New Mexico

505-277-4423

edl@eece.unm.edu

Fred Skiff

U. of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Christopher
Watts

New Mexico
Tech

334-844-4636

watts@nmt.edu

Ronald Williams

Florida A&M

850-599-8383

ronald.williams@famu.edu

Mike Zarnstorff

PPPL

609-243-3581

zarnstorff@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Albuquerque, New Mexico Annual Meeting:

Edl Schamiloglu

U. of New Mexico

505-277-4423

edl@eece.unm.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

U. of Texas

512-471-4378

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Young Scientists

Earl Scime

U. West Virginia

304-293-3422

escime@wvu.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Gail Glendinning,
Chair

LLNL

925-423-3065

glendinning1@llnl.gov

Debbie
Callahan-Miller

LLNL

925-423-5926

dcallahan@llnl.gov

Noah Hershkowitz

U. of Wisconsin

608-263-4970

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

David Newman

U. of Alaska

907-474-7858

ffden@uaf.edu

Martha Redi

PPPL

609-243-3357

redi@pppl.gov

Linda Sugiyama

MIT

617-253-8538

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia Natl. Labs

505-845-7307

masween@sandia.gov

Cha-Mei Tang

Creative Micro
Tech, Inc

301-983-1650

cmtinc@erols.com

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion U.

757-683-4968

lvahala@odu.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Bill Dorland, Chair

U. of Maryland

301-405-1608

bdorland@umd.edu

David Hammer,
Exofficio

Cornell U.

607-255-3916

dah5@cornell.edu

Daniel Dubin

UCSD

858-534-4174

dhdubin@ucsd.edu

Jeff Colvin

LLNL

925-422-3273

colvin5@llnl.gov

Richard Hawryluk

PPPL

609-243-2749

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Glen Wurden

LANL

505-667-5633

wurden@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Jill Dahlburg, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3571

jill.dahlburg@gat.com

Don Batchelor

ORNL

 

batchelordb@ornl.gov

Timothy Coffey

Natl. Defense U.

 

coffeyt@ndu.edu

John Gardner

Naval Research
Lab

 

gardner@lcp.nrl.navy.mil

Martin Greenwald

MIT

 

g@psfc.mit.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

U. of Wisconsin

608-263-4970

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Steve Jardin

PPPL

 

jardin@pppl.gov

Sergei
Krasheninnikov

UCSD

 

skrash@mechanics.ucsd.edu

Barbara Lasinski

LLNL

 

lasinski1@llnl.gov

Keith Matzen

Sandia Natl.
Labs

 

mkmatze@sandia.gov

Tony Taylor

General Atomics

 

taylor@fusion.gat.com

Charles Verdon

General Atomics

 

verdon1@llnl.gov

Back to Top

Publication Committee

S. Peter Gary, Chair

LANL

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

 

doc@swarthmore.edu

Bruce Cohen

LLNL

510-422-9823

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Dept. of Energy

 

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Martin Goldman

U. of Colorado

 

goldman@spot.colorado.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

U. of Wisconsin

608-263-4970

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Bruce Langdon

LLNL

 

blangdon@llnl.gov

Douglass Post

LLNL

 

post@lanl.gov

Linda Sugiyama

MIT

617-253-8538

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Education & Outreach Committee

Rick Lee, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3331

rick.lee@gat.com

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

 

doc@swarthmore.edu

Don Correll

LLNL

 

correll1@llnl.gov

Walter Gekelman

UCLA

 

gekelman@physics.ucla.edu

David Newman

U. of Alaska

 

ffden@uaf.edu

Andrew Post-Zwicker

PPPL

 

azwicker@pppl.gov

Barrett Ripin

Coalition for Plasma Science

 

ripin@mailaps.org

Richard Temkin

MIT

 

temkin@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominations Committee

John Goree, Chair

U. of Iowa

319-335-1843

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Derek Boyd

U. of Maryland

 

db44@umail.umd.edu

Walter Gekelman

UCLA

 

gekelman@physics.ucla.edu

Craig Olson

Sandia Natl. Labs

 

clolson@sandia.gov

Martha Redi

PPPL

609-243-3357

redi@pppl.gov

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Noah Hershkowitz, Representative

U. of Wisconsin

608-263-4970

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Wallace Manheimer, Chair

Naval Research Lab

manheime@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Bill Heidbrink, Vice-Chair

UC Irvine

wwheidbr@uci.edu

Edward Frieman (2002 recipient)

UC San Diego

eaf@siomail.ucsd.edu

Daniel Dubin

UC San Diego

dhdubin@ucsd.edu

Martin Peng

ORNL/PPPL

mpeng@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research

Yue-Ying Lau, Chair

U. of Michigan

yylau@umich.edu

Ron Parker, Vice-Chair

MIT

parker@psfc.mit.edu

Alex Friedman

LBNL

afriedman@lbl.gov

Dennis Papadopoulos

U. of Maryland

kp@astro.umd.edu

Masaaki Yamada (2002 recipient)

PPPL

myamada@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Scott Robertson, Chair

U. of Colorado

robertso@stripe.colorado.edu

Yu Lin, Vice-Chair

Auburn University

ylin@physics.auburn.edu

Paul Bellan (2002 Advisor)

California Institute of Technology

pbellan@its.caltech.edu

John Greenly

Cornell U.

jbg2@cornell.edu

Chris Hegna

U. of Wisconsin

hegna@engr.wisc.edu

Back to Top