logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2005

Program Committee for Invited and Contributed Papers
Local Arrangements Coordinator for the Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics Nicholson Medal for Human Outreach
Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Program Committee for Invited and Contributed Papers

Melissa Douglas, Chair

Los Alamos National Lab

505-845-7472

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Steven Allen

General Atomics

 

allens@fusion.gat.com

William Amatucci

Naval Research Lab

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Sudeep Banerjee

University of Nebraska

 

sudeep@unlserve.unl.edu

Robert Bingham

Rutherford Lab, UK

 

r.bingham@rl.ac.uk

Charles Bush

ORNL/PPPL

 

cbush@pppl.gov

Troy Carter

UCLA

 

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Keith Cartwright

AFRL, Kirtland

 

keith.cartwright@kirtland.af.mil

Vincent Chan

General Atomics

 

chanv@fusion.gat.com

Jill Dahlburg

Naval Research Lab

 

dahlburg@utopia.nrl.navy.mil

William Daughton

University of Iowa

 

william-daughton@uiowa.edu

Ronald Davidson

PPPL

 

rdavidson@pppl.gov

Eliezar Hameiri

New York University

 

hameiri@cims.nyu.edu

Denise Hinkel

LLNL

 

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Thomas Intrator

LANL

 

intrator@lanl.gov

Thomas Jarboe

University of Washington

 

jarboe@aa.washington.edu

James Knauer

University of Rochester

 

jkna@lle.rochester.edu

Nicholas Lanier

LANL

 

nlanier@lanl.gov

Rick Lee

General Atomics

 

rick.lee@gat.com

Michael M Marinak

LLNL

 

marinak1@llnl.gov

William Matthaeus

University of Delaware

 

yswhm@bartol.edel.edu

Patrick McKenty

University of Rochester

 

pmck@lle.rochester.edu

Stanley Milora

ORNL

 

milorasl@ornl.gov

Warren Mori

UCLA

 

mori@physics.ucla.edu

Gregory Moses

University of Wisconsin

 

moses@engr.wisc.edu

Andrew Mostovych

Naval Research Lab

 

mostovych@this.nrl.navy.mil

Jef Ongena

JET, UK

 

ongena@fz-juelich.de

Thomas Pedersen

Columbia University

 

tsp22@columbia.edu

Cynthia Phillips

PPPL

 

ckphilli@pppl.gov

Scott Robertson

University of Colorado

 

scott.robertson@colorado.edu

Jorge Rocca

Colorado State University

 

rocca@engr.colostate.edu

Reece Roth

University of Tennessee

 

jrr@utk.edu

Michael Shay

University of Maryland

 

shay@glue.umd.edu

Luis Silva

GoLP

 

luis.silva@ist.utl.pt

Daniel Sinars

Sandia National Labs

 

dbsinar@sandia.gov

Richard Stephens

General Atomics

 

rich.stephens@gat.com

Kazuo Tanaka

Osaka University, Japan

 

katanaka@ile.osaka-u.ac.jp

Paul Terry

University of Wisconsin

 

pwterry@facstaff.wisc.edu

Mayya Tokman

University of California, Berkeley

 

mayya@math.berkeley.edu

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion

 

lvahala@odu.edu

Stephen Wolfe

MIT

 

wolfe@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for the Annual Meeting:

Scott Robertson University of Colorado 303-492-6453 scott.robertson@colorado.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

University of Texas

512-471-4378

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

John Kline

LANL

505-667-7062

jkline@lanl.gov

Troy Carter

University of California, Ls Angeles

 

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Gail Glendinning, Chair

LLNL

925-423-3065

glendinning1@llnl.gov

Debbie Callahan-Miller

LLNL

 

dcallahan@llnl.gov

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

 

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

David Newman

University of Alaska

 

ffden@uaf.edu

Martha Redi

PPPL

 

redi@pppl.gov

Linda Sugiyama

MIT

 

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Labs

 

masween@sandia.gov

Cha-Mei Tang

Creative Micro Tech Inc

 

cmtinc@erols.com

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion University

 

lvahala@odu.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Jim Van Dam, Chair

University of Texas

512-471-1322

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

Bill Dorland

University of Maryland

 

bdorland@umd.edu

Melissa Douglas, Ex officio

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Rich Hawryluk

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomic

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Thomas Kwan

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

tjtk@lanl.gov

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Fred Skiff

University of Iowa

 

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Vincent Chan, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-4162

chanv@fusion.gat.com

James Chen

Navel Research Lab

chen@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Christopher Deeney

Sandia National Labs

cdeene@sandia.gov

Joel Fajans

University of California, Berkeley

joel@physics.berkeley.edu

John Goree

University of Iowa

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Amanda Hubbard

MIT

hubbard@psfc.mit.edu

Bruce Remington

LLNL

remington2@llnl.gov

Steve Scott

PPPL

sscott@pppl.gov

Barbara Shrauner

Washington University

bas@ee.wustl.edu

Donald Umstadter

University of Michigan

dpu@umich.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

S. Peter Gary, Chair

LANL

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

doc@swarthmore.edu

Bruce Cohen

LLNL

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

James Knauer

University of Rochester

jkna@lle.rochester.edu

Martin Goldman

University of Colorado

goldman@spot.colorado.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Bruce Langdon

LLNL

blangdon@llnl.gov

Douglass Post

LANL

post@lanl.gov

Linda Sugiyama

MIT

Sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Education & Outreach Committee

Rick Lee, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3331

rick.lee@gat.com

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

doc@swarthmore.edu

Don Correll

LLNL

correll@llnl.gov

Walter Gekelman

University of California, Los Angeles

gekelman@physics.ucla.edu

David Newman

University of Alaska

ffden@uaf.edu

Andrew Post-Zwicker

PPPL

azwicker@pppl.gov

Barrett Ripin

Coalition for Plasma Science

ripin@mailaps.org

Richard Temkin

MIT

temkin@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Earl Marmar, Chair

MIT

617-253-5455

marmar@psfc.mit.edu

Don Batchelor, Vice Chair

ORNL

batchelordb@ornl.gov

Linda Sugiyama (appointed by APS)

MIT

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

David Schissel

General Atomics

schissel@fusion.gat.com

James Van Dam

University of Texas

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Mark Koepke, Representative

West Virginia University

304-293-3422, Ext, 1456

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Back to Top

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Barbara Lasinski, Chair

LLNL

lasinski1@llnl.gov

Richard Hazeltine, Vice-Chair

University of Texas

rdh@physics.utexas.edu

Ron Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

rongilg@umich.edu

Noah Hershkowitz (2004 recipient)

University of Wisconsin

Timothy Coffey

National Defense University

coffeyt@ndu.edu

Back to Top

Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research

Wendell Horton, Chair

University of Texas

horton@physics.utexas.edu

Mike Campbell, Vice-Chair

General Atomics

campbell@fusion.gat.com

Karl Krushelnick

Imperial College

k.krushelnic@imperial.ac.uk

Phillip Sprangle

Naval Research Lab

sprangle@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Frank Cheng (2004 recipient)

PPPL

fcheng@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Tom Katsouleas, Chair

University of Southern California

katsoule@usc.edu

Farhat Beg, Vice-Chair

University of California, San Diego

fbeg@ucsd.edu

Howard Milchberg (2004 Advisor)

University of Maryland

milch@ipst.umd.edu

Stephen Jardin

PPPL

sjardin@pppl.gov

Edl Schamiloglu

University of New Mexico

edl@eece.unm.edu

Back to Top

Nicholson Medal for Human Outreach

William M. Gelbart, Chair

UCLA

gelbart@chem.ucla.edu

Robert Merlino, Vice-Chair

University of Iowa

robert-merlino@uiowa.edu

Gregory Loew

Stanford University

galoew@slac.stanford.edu

Joel Lebowitz (2004 recipient)

Rutgers University

lebowitz@math.rutgers.edu

Denis McWhan

Brookhaven National Lab

mcwhan@mailaps.org

Back to Top

Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Joel Fajans, Chair

UC, Berkeley

joel@plasma.berkeley.edu

Catherine Fiore, Vice-Chair

MIT

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Yu Lin (2002 recipient)

Auburn University

ylin@physics.auburn.edu

Marjorie Olmstead

University of Washington

olmstd@u.washington.edu

Bill Tang

PPPL

wtang@pppl.gov