logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2008

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Dallas, Texas Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Amitava Bhattacharjee, Chair

University of New Hampshire

603-862-2507

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Thomas Antonsen

University of Maryland

 

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

William Heidbrink

University of California, Irvine

 

bill.heidbrink@uci.edu

James Bailey

Sandia National Laboratories

 

jebaile@sandia.gov

Donald Batchelor

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

 

batchelordb@ornl.gov

Robert Bingham

Rutherford Laboratory, United Kingdom (EPS)

 

r.bingham@rl.ac.uk

Boris Breizman

University of Texas

 

breizman@mail.utexas.edu

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

 

doc@swarthmore.edu

Luis Chacon

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

chacon@lanl.gov

Thomas Cowan

University of Nevada, Reno

 

cowan@physics.unr.edu

Todd Ditmire

University of Texas

 

tditmire@physics.utexas.edu

Ambrogio Fasoli

Centre de Recherches en Physique de Plasmas, Switzerland

 

ambrogio.fasoli@epfl.ch

Juan Fernandez

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

juanc@lanl.gov

Terry Forbes

University of New Hampshire

 

tgforbes@blackstar.sr.unh.edu

Valeri Goncharov

University of Rochester

 

vgon@lle.rochester.edu

Charles Greenfield

General Atomics

 

greenfield@fusion.gat.com

Satoshi Hamaguchi

Osaka University (JSPS)

 

hamaguchi@ppl.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp

Gregory Hammett

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

hammett@pppl.gov

Chris Hegna

University of Wisconsin

 

hegna@cae.wisc.edu

William Heidbrink

University of California, Irvine

 

wwheidbr@uci.edu

Ady Hershcovitch

Brookhaven National Laboratory

 

hershcovitch@bnl.gov

Ian Hutchinson

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

hutch@psfc.mit.edu

Igor Kaganovich

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ikaganov@pppl.gov

Stephen Knowlton

Auburn University

 

knowlton@physics.auburn.edu

Robert La Haye

General Atomics

 

lahaye@fusion.gat.com

Martin Lampe

Naval Research Laboratory

 

martin.lampe@nrl.navy.mil

Hui Li

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

hli@lanl.gov

Earl Marmar

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

marmar@psfc.mit.edu

Piero Martin

Consorzio RFX and the University of Padova, Italy

 

piero.martin@igi.cnr.it

Robyn Millan

Dartmouth College

 

robyn.millan@dartmouth.edu

Howard Milchberg

University of Maryland

 

milch@ipst.umd.edu

Patric Muggli

University of Southern California

 

muggli@ee.ucla.edu

Thomas Pedersen

Columbia University

 

tsp22@columbia.edu

Richard Petrasso

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

petrasso@psfc.mit.edu

Annick Pouquet

National Center for Atmospheric Research

 

pouquet@ucar.edu

Max Tabak

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

tabak1@llnl.gov

Jonathan Wurtele

University of California, Berkeley

 

jswurtele@lbl.gov

Stewart Zweben

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

szweben@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Dallas, Texas Annual Meeting:

Boris Breizman

University of Texas

512-471-6123

breizman@mail.utexas.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

University of Texas

512-471-4378

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Jill Foley, Chair

Nova Photonics Inc. at PPPL

609-243-3145

jfoley@pppl.gov

Tim Gray, Vice-Chair

Swarthmore College

 

tgray1@swarthmore.edu

Troy Carter, Past Chair

University of California, Los Angeles

 

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Melissa Douglas, Chair

Los Alamos National Lab

505-665-1231

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Debbie Callahan-Miller

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dcallahan@llnl.gov

R. Paul Drake

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Jill Foley

Nova Photonics, Inc./PPPL

jfoley@princeton.edu

Amy Keesee

West Virginia University

amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Sarah Messer

Naval Research Laboratory

messer@ccs.nrl.navy.mil

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Lababoratories

masween@sandia.gov

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Fred Skiff, Chair

University of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Amitava Bhattacharjee, Exofficio

University of New Hampshire

 

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Richard Hawryluk

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Earl Scime

West Virginia University

 

escime@wvu.edu

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Thomas Antonsen, Chair

University of Maryland

301-405-1635

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

Juan Fernandez

Los Alamos National Lab

juanc@lanl.gov

Ronald Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

rongilg@umich.edu

John Goree

University of Iowa

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Joseph Huba

Naval Research Laboratory

huba@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Bruce Langdon

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

blangdon@llnl.gov

Wim Leemans

Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

wpleemans@lbl.gov

Linda Sugiyama

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

sugiyama@mit.edu

Michael Zarnstorf

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

zarnstorff@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Publication Committee

S. Peter Gary, Chair

LANL

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Bruce Cohen

LLNL

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Bruce Langdon

LLNL

blangdon@llnl.gov

David S. Montgomery

LANL

montgomery@lanl.gov

Michael Shay

University of Delaware

shay@physics.udel.edu

Linda Sugiyama

MIT

Sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Education & Outreach Committee

Charles Greenfield, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3686

chuck.greenfield@gat.com

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Lab

berryla@ornl.gov

Dylan Brennan

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Don Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

correll@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Lab

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Rick Lee

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Tony Taylor, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3559

taylor@fusion.gat.com

David Meyerhofer, Vice-Chair

University of Rochester

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Mike Mauel

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Ron Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

rongilg@umich.edu

Gail Glendinning (appointed by APS)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

glendinning1@llnl.gov

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Mark Koepke, Representative

West Virginia University

304-293-3422, Ext, 1456

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Frederick Skiff, Associate Representative

University of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Back to Top

Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Catherine Fiore, Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Mary Ann Sweeney, Vice-Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

masween@sandia.gov

Joel Fajans, Past Chair

University of California, Berkeley

joel@physics.berkeley.edu

Elena Belova (2005 recipient)

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ebelova@pppl.gov

Mary Hall Reno

University of Iowa

mary-hall-reno@uiowa.edu

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

George Neilson, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hneilson@pppl.gov

Robert Merlino, Vice Chair University of Iowa robert-merlino@uiowa.edu
Amanda Hubbard Massachusetts Institute of Technology hubbard@psfc.mit.edu
John Lindl, 2007 Recipient Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory lindl1@llnl.gov
Scott Parker University of Colorado sparker@colorado.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Uri Shumlak, Chair

University of Washington

shumlak@aa.washington.edu

Peter Catto, Vice-Chair Massachusetts Institute of Technology catto@psfc.mit.edu
Christine Coverdale Sandia National Laboratories cacover@sandia.gov
Gerald Navratil, 2007 Recipient Columbia University navratil@columbia.edu
John Sarff University of Wisconsin  
Roger Bengtson University of Texas bengtson@physics.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Thomas O’Neil, Chair

University of California, San Diego

toneil@ucsd.edu

Adil Hassam, Vice-Chair

University of Maryland

hassam@glue.umd.edu

Cary Forest

University of Wisconsin

cbforest@wisc.edu

Scott Parker

University of Colorado

sparker@colorado.edu

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Laboratories

masween@sandia.gov

Back to Top