logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2009

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Atlanta, Georgia Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Thomas Antonsen, Chair

University of Maryland

301-405-1635

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

Steve Allen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/GA

 

allens@fusion.gat.com

Andre Anders

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

 

aanders@lbl.gov

Amitava Bhattacharjee

University of New Hampshire

 

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Robert Bingham

Rutherford Laboratory, United Kingdom (EPS)

 

r.bingham@rl.ac.uk

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

 

berryla@ornl.gov

Paul Bonoli

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

bonoli@psfc.mit.edu

Dylan Brennan

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Paul Chu

City University of Hong Kong, China

 

paul.chu@cityu.edu.hk

Ronald Cohen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

rcohen@llnl.gov

Alan Costley

ITER Organization, France

 

alan.costley@iter.org

Daniel J. Den Hartog

University of Wisconsin

 

djdenhar@facstaff.wisc.edu

Michael Desjarlais

Sandia National Laboratories

 

mpdesja@sandia.gov

Robert Dewar

Australian National University, Australia

 

robert.dewar@anu.edu.au

Russell Doerner

University of California, San Diego

 

rdoerner@ucsd.edu

Kevin Felch

Communications and Power Industries

 

kevin.felch@cpii.com

Jill Foley

Nova Photonics/PPPL

 

efoley@pppl.gov

Eric Fredrickson

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

efredrickson@pppl.gov

Gurudas Ganguli

Naval Research Laboratory

 

gang@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Andrea Garofalo

General Atomics

 

garofalo@fusion.gat.com

Cameron Geddes

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

 

cgrgeddes@lbl.gov

Mark Gilmore

University of New Mexico

 

gilmore@ece.unm.edu

Gail Glendinning

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

glendinning1@llnl.gov

Siegfried Glenzer

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

glenzer1@llnl.gov

Nikolai Gorelenkov

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ngorelen@pppl.gov

Robert Granetz

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

granetz@mit.edu

Houyang Guo

Tri Alpha Energy Inc.

 

hguo@trialphaenergy.com

Satoshi Hamaguchi

Osaka University, Japan (JSPS)

 

hamaguchi@ppl.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp

James Hanson

Auburn University

 

hanson@physics.auburn.edu

William Heidbrink

University of California, Irvine

 

wwheidbr@uci.edu

Gregory Howes

University of California, Berkeley

 

ghowes@astro.berkeley.edu

Amy Keesee

West Virginia University

 

ams_510@yahoo.com

John Kline

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

jkline@lanl.gov

Rick Lee

General Atomics

 

leer@fusion.gat.com

Yu Lin

Auburn University

 

ylin@physics.auburn.edu

Roberto Mancini

University of Nevada

 

rcman@physics.unr.edu

Darlene Markevich

Department of Energy

 

darlene.markevich@science.doe.gov

Chuang Ren

University of Rochester

 

chren@me.rochester.edu

Adam Sefkow

Sandia National Laboratories

 

adamsefkow@gmail.com

Michael Shay

University of Delaware

 

shay@physics.udel.edu

Matthew Stoneking

Lawrence University

 

matthew.r.stoneking@lawrence.edu

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

 

etjr@physics.auburn.edu

Ronald Waltz

General Atomics

 

waltz@fusion.gat.com

Heather Wilkins

General Atomics

 

wilken@fusion.gat.com

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Atlanta, Georgia Annual Meeting:

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

865-574-0998

berryla@ornl.gov

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

University of Texas

512-471-4378

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Tim Gray, Chair

Swarthmore College

610-690-5778

tgray1@swarthmore.edu

Dylan Brennan, Vice-Chair

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Jill Foley, Past Chair

Nova Photonics Inc. at PPPL

 

jfoley@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Melissa Douglas,, Chair

Los Alamos National Lab

505-665-1231

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Francesca Bombarda

CR ENEA-Frascati, Italy/MIT

bombarda@psfc.mit.edu

Vincent Chan

General Atomics

chanv@fusion.gat.com

R. Paul Drake

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Fatima Ebrahimi

University of Wisconsin

febrahimi@wisc.edu

Denise Hinkel

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Amy Keesee

West Virginia University

amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu

Sarah Messer

HyperV Technologies Corp.

messer@hyperv.com

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Labs

masween@sandia.gov

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Earl Scime, Chair

West Virginia University

304-293-3422

escime@wvu.edu

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Thomas Antonsen, Exofficio

University of Maryland

 

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

 

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lyin@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Steven Allen, Chair

LLNL/General Atomics

858-455-4137

allens@fusion.gat.com

Philip Efthimion

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

pefthimion@pppl.gov

Valeri Goncharov

University of Rochester

vgon@lle.rochester.edu

George Kyrala

Los Alamos National Laboratory

gak@lanl.gov

Yu Lin

Auburn University

ylin@physics.auburn.edu

Patric Muggli

University of Southern California

muggli@usc.edu

Gregory Nusinovich

University of Maryland

gregoryn@glue.umd.edu

Thomas Rognlien

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

trognlien@llnl.gov

James Terry

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

terry@psfc.mit.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

S. Peter Gary, Chair

LANL

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Bruce Cohen

LLNL

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Catherine Fiore

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Steven Sabbagh

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Michael Shay

University of Delaware

shay@physics.udel.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Rick Lee, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3331

rick.lee@gat.com

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Lab

berryla@ornl.gov

Dylan Brennan

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Don Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

correll@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Lab

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Charles Greenfield, Past Chair

General Atomics

greenfield@fusion.gat.com

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

David Meyerhofer, Chair

University of Rochester

858-455-3559

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Masayuki Ono, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Phyiscs Laboratory

mono@pppl.gov

Mark Kushner

University of Michigan

mjkush@umich.edu

Michael Mauel

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Linda Vahala (appointed by APS)

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Mark Koepke, Representative

West Virginia University

304-293-3422, Ext, 1456

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Frederick Skiff, Associate Representative

University of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Robert Merlino, Chair

University of Iowa

robert-merlino@uiowa.edu

Max Tabak, Vice-Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

tabak1@llnl.gov

Jill Dahlburg

Naval Research Laboratory

jill.dahlburg@nrl.navy.mil

Ronald Davidson (2008 recipient)

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

rdavidson@pppl.gov

Richard Lovelace

Cornell University

rvl1@cornell.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Christine Coverdale, Chair

Sandia National Labs

cacover@sandia.gov

Cliff Surko, Vice-Chair

University of California, San Diego

csurko@ucsd.edu

Peter Catto

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

catto@psfc.mit.edu

Jean Marcel Rax

Ecole Polytechnique, France

rax@lptp.polytechnique.fr

Michael Zarnstorff (2008 recipient)

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

zarnstorff@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Adil Hassam, Chair

University of Maryland

hassam@umd.edu

Joel Fajans, Vice-Chair

University of California, Berkeley

joel@physics.berkeley.edu

Scott Parker

University of Colorado

sparker@colorado.edu

Carl Sovinec

University of Wisconsin

sovinec@engr.wisc.edu

Masaaki Yamada (2008 Advisor)

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

myamada@pppl.gov

Back to Top