logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2010

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Chicago, Illinois Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Steve Allen, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/GA

858-455-4137

allens@fusion.gat.com

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Tom Antonsen

University of Maryland

 

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

Christina Back

General Atomics

 

backca@fusion.gat.com

Cris Barnes

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

cbarnes@lanl.gov

John Booske

University of Wisconsin

 

booske@engr.wisc.edu

John Cary

University of Colorado

 

cary@colorado.edu

Cynthia Cattell

University of Minnesota

 

cattell@umn.edu

Morrell Chance

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

mchance@pppl.gov

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

 

bchapman@wisc.edu

Bruce Cohen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

bcohen@llnl.gov

Richard Dendy

University of Warwick, UK (EPS)

 

r.dendy@warwick.ac.uk

Cary Forest

University of Wisconsin

 

cbforest@wisc.edu

Darren Garnier

Columbia University/MIT

 

garnier@psfc.mit.edu

Satoshi Hamaguchi

Osaka University, Japan (JSPS)

 

hamaguchi@ppl.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp

William Heidbrink

University of California, Irvine

 

wwheidbr@uci.edu

David Hill

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/GA

 

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

Chris Holland

University of California, San Diego

 

cholland@ferp.ucsd.edu

Max Karasik

Naval Research Laboratory

 

max.karasik@nrl.navy.mil

Henry Kapteyn

University of Colorado

 

kapteyn@jila.colorado.edu

Michael Keidar

George Washington University

 

keidar@gwu.edu

Rick Lee

General Atomics

 

leer@fusion.gat.com

Rajesh Maingi

Oak Ridge National Laboratory/PPPL

 

rmaingi@pppl.gov@llnl.gov

Keith Matzen

Sandia National Laboratories

 

mkmatze@sandia.gov

Paul Miller

West Virginia University

 

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

 

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

Mark Nornberg

University of Wisconsin/PPPL

 

mdnornberg@wisc.edu

Tony Peebles

University of California, Los Angeles

 

wpeebles@ucla.edu

Thomas Pedersen

Columbia University

 

tsp22@columbia.edu

Carl Schroeder

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

 

cbschroeder@lbl.gov

Yasuhiko Sentoku

University of Nevada

 

sentoku@unr.edu

Uri Shumlak

University of Washington

 

shumlak@u.washington.edu

Carl Sovinec

University of Wisconsin

 

sovinec@engr.wisc.edu

Gary Staebler

General Atomics

 

staebler@fusion.gat.com

Linda Sugiyama

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Tomoya Tatsuno

University of Maryland

 

tatsuno@umd.edu

Richard Temkin

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

temkin@psfc.mit.edu

George Tynan

University of California, San Diego

 

gtynan@ucsd.edu

John Verboncoeur

University of California, Berkeley

 

johnv@nuc.berkeley.edu

Stephen Vincena

University of California, Los Angeles

 

vincena@physics.ucla.edu

Scott Wilks

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

wilks1@llnl.gov

Jeremiah Williams

Wittenberg University

 

jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Stephen Wukitch

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

wukitch@psfc.mit.edu

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lyin@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Chicago, Illinois Annual Meeting:

Jeff Brooks

Purdue University

765-496-3630

brooksjn@purdue.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

 

512-694-2320

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Tim Gray, Chair

Swarthmore College

610-690-5778

tgray1@swarthmore.edu

Dylan Brennan, Vice-Chair

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Jill Foley, Past Chair

Nova Photonics Inc. at PPPL

 

jfoley@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Mary Ann Sweeney, Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

505-845-7307

masween@sandia.gov

Francesca Bombarda

CR ENEA-Frascati, Italy/MIT

bombarda@psfc.mit.edu

Vincent Chan

General Atomics

chanv@fusion.gat.com

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Laboratory

mdouglas@lanl.gov

R. Paul Drake

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Fatima Ebrahimi

University of Wisconsin

febrahimi@wisc.edu

Denise Hinkel

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Amy Keesee

West Virginia University

amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu

Lorin Matthews

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Earl Scime, Chair

West Virginia University

304-293-3422

escime@wvu.edu

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Steven Allen, Exofficio

LLNL/General Atomics

 

allens@fusion.gat.com

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

 

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lyin@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Cary Forest, Chair

University of Wisconsin

608-263-0486

cbforest@wisc.edu

Paul Bellan

California Institute of Technology

pbellan@its.caltech.edu

Christine Coverdale

Sandia National Laboratories

cacover@sandia.gov

Bill Dorland

University of Maryland

bdorland@umd.edu

Gail Glendinning

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

glendinning1@llnl.gov

Hantao Ji

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hji@pppl.gov

Mark Kushner

University of Michigan

mjkush@umich.edu

Martin Lampe

Naval Research Laboratory

martinlampe2@gmail.com

Alan Turnbull

General Atomics

turnbull@fusion.gat.com

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

S. Peter Gary, Chair

LANL

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Bruce Cohen

LLNL

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Catherine Fiore

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Steven Sabbagh

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Michael Shay

University of Delaware

shay@physics.udel.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Rick Lee, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3331

rick.lee@gat.com

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Lab

berryla@ornl.gov

Dylan Brennan

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Don Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

correll@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Lab

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Charles Greenfield, Past Chair

General Atomics

greenfield@fusion.gat.com

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Paul Miller

West Virginia University

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Masayuki Ono, Chair

Princeton Plasma Phyiscs Laboratory

609-683-2105

mono@pppl.gov

John Cary, Vice-Chair

University of Colorado

cary@colorado.edu

Christina Back

General Atomics

backca@fusion.gat.com

Mark Kushner

University of Michigan

mjkush@umich.edu

Juan Fernandez (appointed by APS)

Los Alamos National Laboratory

juanc@lanl.gov

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Mark Koepke, Representative

West Virginia University

304-293-3422, Ext, 1456

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Frederick Skiff, Associate Representative

University of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Max Tabak, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

tabak1@llnl.gov

Stephen Obenschain, Vice-Chair

Naval Research Laboratory

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Richard Lovelace

Cornell University

rvl1@cornell.edu

William Nevins

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

nevins1@llnl.gov

Miklos Porkolab (2009 recipient)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

porkolab@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Amitava Bhattacharjee, Chair

University of New Hampshire

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Michael Mauel, Vice-Chair

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Richard Berger

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

berger5@llnl.gov

Yitzhak Maron (2009 recipient)

Weizmann Institute of Science

fnmaron@weizmann.weizmann.ac.il

Cliff Surko

University of California, San Diego

csurko@ucsd.edu

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Joel Fajans, Chair

University of California, Berkeley

joel@physics.berkeley.edu

Ambrogio Fasoli, Vice-Chair

CRPP-EPFL, Switzerland

ambrogio.fasoli@epfl.ch

Troy Carter (2009 Advisor)

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Wojciech Rozmus

University of Alberta

rozmus@phys.ualberta.ca

Carl Sovinec

University of Wisconsin

sovinec@engr.wisc.edu

Back to Top